My family loves oat bars, so my mom’s made her own a few times and I thought I’d give it a shot! They’re super easy and perfect to make ahead for a snack or even a breakfast. 

You’ll need:

  • 4 cups oats 
  • 1 1/3 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/3 tsp salt
  • A stick of butter (1/2 cup)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 1/4 tsp vanilla extract 
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract (optional)

 
To start, I mixed two cups of oats, the cinnamon, and salt. Then, I ground the remaining two cups of oats in my blender until they resembled a fine flour. I added those to my other dry ingredients and stirred. 

On the stove, I stirred together water, honey, and brown sugar until boiling in a saucepan. I allowed the mixture to boil for awhile- about 2 minutes- and removed from heat. 

Then, I mixed the wet and dry ingredients, adding in my vanilla. Finally, I spread them in a large pan and chilled them in the fridge until firm- about 45 minutes. I sliced them into bar shapes and they were finished!  

  

 These are so good and chewy. I love how filling and convenient they are. They’re made from ingredients I almost always have on hand and take no more than 15 minutes to prep. What’s not to like?

  

