We’ve finally run down my last few desserts, so I figured I’d whip up some cookies tonight- I went for a rich, deep chocolate cookie, adapting lightly from a Food Network recipe. 

You’ll need:

  • 1 1/2 cups butter
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder (I used a special dark cocoa powder)
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • A few shakes of salt

 Cream the eggs and butter together, then add your vanilla extract and eggs. In another bowl, mix cocoa powder, flour, baking soda and salt. Combine your two bowls gradually, adding the flour mixture until stiff. Personally, I left about two or three tablespoons of my dry mix aside, as my dough was too thick to take any more.  

 Next, I rolled my dough into tubes in wax paper and chilled for an hour and a half. Then, I sliced them into rounds about 1/3 of an inch thick- I find the best way to do this is to cut with either a cold butter knife or unflavored dental floss. The texture should be very dense and doughy. I baked them at 350 for about 9 minutes. I definitely suggest letting them cook for a long while- they come out of the oven super malleable and easily broken. Give about 20 minutes to cook thoroughly. The yield on this recipe was super impressive! I made about 60 good sized cookies!

   
   As for serving, I found that these tasted a lot like the cookie of an Oreo, but chewier and much moister. They have that same dark and only slightly sweet flavor. Thus, I experimented a bit and found that they taste phenomenal when filled. I really liked using fresh whipped cream and sliced strawberries as a filling. These cookies might be milk’s new best friend. I think these would also lend themselves pretty well to an ice cream sandwich, another recipe that’s been on my to-try list for a very long time. Maybe in the next few days?

Thank you guys for nearly two months on this site. I’m so happy to be sharing my kitchen with all of you. 

Miranda

