I really wanted to try something new today and I’ve had this one on my list for awhile. I actually found this more straightforward to make than I imagined! I spent some time reading through various recipes before deciding to just freestyle my own version using the ingredients that I liked.

I used:

  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 2 tablespoons minced ginger
  • 6 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 3 leaves of bok choy, roughly chopped
  • 4 cloves minced garlic
  • one package of wonton wrappers
  • one lb of ground pork
  • 1/4 head of cabbage, chopped
  • black pepper
  • Sriracha
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon rice wine vinegar
  • salt

IMG_3450

To start, I heated up 1 tablespoon of my sesame oil in a large stock pot. Once hot, I added a tablespoon of ginger and 2 cloves of minced garlic and cooked for about 2 minutes. Then, I added in 4 sliced scallions. I let these cook until slightly tender, then added my 4 cups of chicken broth and a tablespoon of sesame oil. I had the broth simmer on low while I made my wontons to infuse the broth with the flavors of my added ingredients.

To make the wonton filling, I combined my pork, cabbage, 2 sliced scallions, 2 cloves of minced garlic, 1 tablespoon and a half of soy sauce, 1 tablespoon of sesame oil, a large dash of sriracha, a tablespoon of minced ginger, and some black pepper. Then, I got a small bowl of water. To form the wontons, brush some water over the edges of a wonton wrapper, deposit a small portion of filling in the center and fold over, pushing the edges in to the center and crimping to keep secure. This takes some time to feel comfortable with. You’ll also start to get a sense for how much filling needs to go inside each to wrap easily. To me, it seemed like far less than I would have thought.IMG_3454

As I was finishing up my wontons, I added my bok choy to my broth, along with the rice wine vinegar and another tablespoon of soy sauce. I also put on a pot of water to boil. If you’re not planning to eat all of your soup at once, you probably want to boil your wontons in the water before adding- if stored together, your broth will just get super starchy and thick. Store separately if you have leftovers. Even if you do eat all of your soup, you probably have made more wontons than you’ll actually need in the soup. I put about 36 wontons in my soup and still had about 15 left to boil separately and store as leftovers. Make sure whatever liquid you’re using to cook is boiling, broth or water. Once my wontons were added, I cooked them in the hot liquid for about 2 to 3 minutes, watching for the wrappers to get silky and thin and for the pork inside to get lumpy and more solid. I also observed that as my wontons reached their cooked state, a few would float to the surface as liquid flooded their insides, making them puff up. When you think your wontons are fully cooked, just serve! I added a touch of sriracha and soy sauce to taste to each bowl for more flavor and for presentation.

IMG_3460

The final soup was super good! The wontons were delicate and flavorful! The contrast between the ground pork and the cabbage with the wrapper itself led to great textures. I really liked the bok choy in the broth, which was fragrant and light. This is definitely a make-again recipe! I think it would also be really good as a showstopper kind of dish- it’s delicious and impressive-looking, but actually pretty easy. The wonton wrapping can be kind of time-consuming, but I enjoyed it as I got into the rhythm. Yum!

