These were a special request from my dad this weekend, so I clearly had to whip up a batch. Plus, who doesn’t love cinnamon-sugary goodness?

You’ll need:

  • 2 sticks of butter
  • 1 1/3 cup of sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 3/4 cup flour
  • 2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/3 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 3 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Start by preheating your oven to 350 degrees. Cream together your butter and the 1 1/3 cup of sugar. Beat each egg in individually. Set aside. 

In another bowl, mix the flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt. Form a well in the center of your dry goods and slowly pour in your liquid ingredients. Stir until combined. Chill for about 15 minutes. 

In another bowl, stir together your reserved sugar and your cinnamon. 

When the dough is chilled, roll small balls of dough in the cinnamon sugar and place on tray. I like to coat mine pretty thick so that the top crinkles and cracks when it bakes. Bake for about 10 minutes on an increased baking sheet. Remove from pan when fully cooked to cool- I cool on a sheet of wax or parchment paper on my countertop to reduce cleanup. 

  
Personally, I find the rolling of the dough in cinnamon sugar really relaxing in a weird way, so I love to make these cookies. Plus, my dad seemed thrilled to have his cookies, so everyone’s a winner today!

