My mom has a major thing for pecans, so I thought I’d try something new! 

You’ll need:

  • 1 1/2 cups pecans
  • 2 sticks of butter
  • About a cup and a half of sugar
  • Vanilla extract 
  • Salt
  • 2 cups of flour

You’ll want to start by toasting your pecans. I started preheating my oven to 350 degrees and just stuck the pecans in for 5 minutes. Then, I chopped them up pretty finely.  

   In another bowl, cream together about 2/3 cup of your sugar and all the butter until smooth and creamy. Add in about 2 teaspoons of your vanilla extract. Add a few dashes of salt. Finally, beat in the flour, working slowly in increments of about half a cup. Combine just until your dough starts to come together. If it’s too dry, try adding a few tablespoons of water. Stir in the pecans. 

Roll small sections of dough into balls and flatten. Place the rounds on an ungreased baking sheet. Sprinkle with some of the leftover sugar and bake for 15 minutes. Sprinkle again with sugar part way through the baking time. Let cool completely before eating.  

 

