While I was in New Orleans, my grandmother gave me her bread machine. I was super intrigued by it. I’d never really though about them, but they’re so easy and convenient. If you have the ingredients on hand, fresh bread is as easy as putting the ingredients into the machine and pressing start.

I just made a loaf of white bread for my first attempt at using the machine.

To make a 1.5 lb loaf of white bread, my machine called for (in this specific order when layering into the machine):

  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 3 tbsp softened butter
  • 3 1/2 cup of American bread flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp bread machine yeast

After putting in the ingredients, you just choose your cycle and off you go! In my machine, a loaf this size takes 3 hours and has 3 rising cycles and 2 kneading cycles before baking for one hour. I think I’ll definitely be getting a lot of use out of this. It’s so simple and nothing beats fresh bread, except for maybe the smell of bread baking. I’m excited to see what else this thing can do!

IMG_4003 IMG_3994

