My family’s from New Orleans, so we definitely have a huge appreciation for a good French bread, which can sometimes be hard to find here in Texas. I figured I’d go for round two with my bread machine and try to tackle this one myself.

You’ll need:

  • 1 1/2 cups of water
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 3 1/2 cups bread flour in America, 2 1/4 cup in Canada, as American bread flour actually has a lower protein content than most other countries
  • 1 1/2 tsp bread machine yeast

For me, all this took was carefully measuring out my ingredients and putting them into my machine in the order above. My machine has a cycle just for french bread, which takes somewhere around 3 and a half hours from start to finish.

IMG_4095

The final product was so so good! It had a thick, crunchy crust and a great chewy texture inside. We managed to eat a whole loaf in the course of a day!

