I’m smack dab in the busiest time of the year- the crunch time right before AP exams. Luckily for me, I can pretend that baking is still a priority- it’s therapeutic, right?

Well, these little guys are flavor-packed and way better than any street cart soft pretzel (and I really love street cart soft pretzels) ((make that any soft pretzel)). I made these pretzels, riffing off of my previous soft pretzel recipe and basting with a garlic butter to finish. Yum!

Ingredients:

  • 1 package Active Dry yeast
  • 4.5 cups of hot water
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 3 3/4 cups flour
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2 1/2 tbsp melted butter
  • 1 1/2 tsp garlic powder (or more for desired intensity)
  • 1/3 cup baking soda
  • 1/4 cup rock salt

IMG_5411.JPG

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. I started off by combining my yeast with 1.5 cups of the warm water and letting it sit until small bubbles started to form and the yeast was completely dissolved. Then, I stirred in the sugar and let sit for about 3 minutes. Next, I stirred in the salt and flour. I kneaded my dough on a lightly floured surface for a few minutes before placing in a greased bowl, covering in plastic wrap, and letting rise for about 45 minutes or until about doubled in size.

Then, I punched the dough to release trapped air bubbles and turned it out onto the floured surface. Once smooth and elastic, I divided the dough into 6 pieces, rolled each out into long ropes, about an inch thick, and chopped into little bite-sized pieces. I lined two baking sheets with parchment paper. Then, I mixed the baking soda with the remaining hot water in a bowl. I dipped each bite of dough into the baking soda mixture and then into the beaten egg and placed on the tray, topping with a sprinkle of rock salt. Then, I put the trays into the oven for about 15 minutes or until browned. While baking, I stirred together the melted butter and the garlic powder. When the pretzels were fully cooked, I basted with the garlic butter mixture. Finally, time to chow down! Yum!

