So I’m a big fan of the celebratory cake, especially as it gives me the chance to attempt to slightly improve my horrendous frosting skills. This particular cake was to commemorate the excitement I feel as I start prepping to leave for college. I first encountered this idea in American Girl magazine when I was seven or eight- it was the first ambitious baking project I ever took on. This one brought back all of the same joy and nostalgia. 


Ingredients:

  • one box each red, orange, yellow, green, and blue jello 
  • 1 1/2 sticks butter
  • 1 1/2 c sugar
  • 2 c flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 6 egg whites
  • 1 c milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract (clear is better) 
  • 1 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1 recipe white frosting of your choosing
  1. Preheat an oven to 350. Grease as many 9-inch cake pans as you have- you’ll be cooking 5 layers. 
  2. Start by combining the flour, baking powder, and salt in a bowl. Set aside. 
  3. In another bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. 
  4. Alternately beat in the flour mix, eggs, and milk to the butter mixture until all has been added. 
  5. Stir in vanilla and almond extracts. 
  6. Divide batter into five bowls. Add a tablespoon of one flavor of jello to a bowl and repeat with others until you have five separate colors. 
  7. Bake each color layer individually in the prepared pans for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean once stuck in the cake’s center. 
  8. Let the layers cool completely. 
  9. Die your frosting lightly blue (or any other color! This is my preference)
  10. Begin assembling cake in rainbow order with blue on the bottom and red on top, icing with the frosting in between each layer and on top and sides. Enjoy your little slice of the sky! 
